Cultural Coalition Announces Coordinator For Northeastern CT Arts & Culture Community

The Cultural Coalition is pleased to announce northeastern Connecticut resident, Charlene Haukom, as the organization’s Northeast Region (NER) Coordinator. Ms. Haukom joins the Cultural Coalition to connect with artists, arts & cultural businesses, community organizations, and municipal and economic development leaders in
twenty-one northeastern CT towns. In this new position, she will serve as the liaison to the region, assess the arts & cultural landscape, and extend the Cultural Coalition’s programs and services to the creative community.

A freelance writer and artist, Ms. Haukom has experience building connections with the arts and culture community. Having worked in educational programs and administration at institutions of higher education, Ms. Haukom brings strong communication, collaboration and administrative skills to the position. Cultural Coalition’s
Executive Director Wendy Bury said, “We look forward to having Charlene as part of our growing team. The northeast region has a vibrant and diverse arts community, which includes local arts events, festivals, institutions, and activities, as well as a diffuse network of artists.” Bury continued, “Charlene will focus on community
engagement and assessment with a lens of diversity, equity and inclusion in order to provide support and resources to the creative community, especially to help with economic recovery from Covid-19.”

The Cultural Coalition has been the Designated Regional Service Organization (DRSO) for Southeastern CT since its inception in 2014. The CT Office of the Arts partners with the eight regional DRSOs that serve as local field offices to constituents and citizens. This statewide network of service providers plays a key role that is mutually beneficial to the state’s citizens, the creative economy and the regional arts and cultural infrastructure.

In January 2021, the Connecticut Office of the Arts announced that the Cultural Coalition would serve as the DRSO for the towns of:

Ashford | Brooklyn | Canterbury | Chaplin | Columbia | Coventry | Eastford | Hampton | Killingly | Mansfield | Plainfield | Pomfret | Putnam | Scotland | Stafford | Sterling | Thompson | Union | City of Willimantic (in Windham) | Willington | Windham | Woodstock.