Charter Oak Awards $94,000 In Scholarships

 Charter Oak Federal Credit Union awarded $94,000 in scholarships this spring to 47 high school and college students in New London and Windham counties who exceled academically and who take an active role in supporting their local communities. For the seventh year in a row, the credit union committed to awarding one $2,000 college scholarship to one college-bound senior at each high school within New London and Windham counties with an attendance of at least 100 students. Students who are members of Charter Oak compete for the scholarships by submitting an essay describing how they would help their local community in addition to their academic achievements and their involvement in community initiatives.

This year Charter Oak received nearly 200 scholarship applications, including applicants from 28 of the 33 qualified high schools within New London and Windham counties.

This year’s high school student scholarship winners (sorted by school) are: Sage Muenzner, Bacon Academy; Alicia Lin, East Lyme High School; Ethan Moore, East Lyme High School; Margaret Prosperie, Edwin O. Smith High School; Gabriel de la Cruz, Grasso Southeastern Technical High School; Taylor Bialowas, Griswold High School; Daren Paquin, Harvard H. Ellis Technical High School; Georgia Barry, Killingly High School; Shelby Bellows, Killingly High School; Katherine Harren, Ledyard High School; Emma Cassidy, Ledyard High School; Maxwell Hussey, Lyman Memorial High School; Victoria Stout, Lyme Old Lyme High School; Sofia Gonzalez, Marine Science Magnet High School; Gabriella Watson, Marine Science Magnet High School; Julia Beaupre, Montville High School. Also, Joshua Schantz, Mother of Divine Grace, Homeschool; Naysha Valencia, New London High School; Aidan O'Farrell, Norwich Free Academy; Avery Larkin, Norwich Free Academy; Ryan Anderson, Norwich Free Academy; Kalei Andruskiewicz, Norwich Free Academy; Ramique Porter, Norwich Technical Regional High School; Jack Pothier, Plainfield High School; Morgan Rice, Pomfret School; Amayah Chavez, Putnam High School; Gabrielle Breault, Quinebaug Middle College; Amanda Stanberry, Robert E. Fitch High School; Anna Servidio, Robert E. Fitch High School; Elliot Reese, Robert E. Fitch High School; Kathleen Power, Saint Bernard School; William deCastro, Stonington High School; Harley Dyer, Stonington High School; Aimee Girard, Waterford High School; Shayna Gladstone, Waterford High School; Ute Zeeman, Wheeler High School; Tyler Walter, Windham High School; Lindsey DeMarchi, Windham Technical High School; Tegan Perry, Woodstock Academy College award winners include: Elizanette Castillo, Connecticut College; Nikki Flynn, Eastern Connecticut State University; Justin St. Martin, Landmark College; Stephanie Weber, Lesley University; Rylee Faucher, Quinebaug Valley Community College; Jennifer Paul, University of Connecticut.

In Addition to those 45 high school and college scholarship recipients, Charter Oak employees awarded two separate scholarships through their employee-funded Community Outreach Program. Hannah Nicholson, a student at Westerly High School, was awarded the $2,000 Community Outreach Memorial Scholarship and Megan Wrobel, a student at Eastern Connecticut State University, was awarded the $2,000 Louise Jackson Community Outreach Scholarship. Charter Oak awards scholarships on an annual basis and will begin accepting applications again in January 2023 for the 2023-2024 school year. To learn more about the credit union’s scholarship program, visit

Charter Oak is eastern Connecticut’s largest credit union with assets of $1.57 billion as of March 31, 2022. For more information about Charter Oak’s broad range of products and services, please visit any of our convenient branches, call our Contact Center at 860.446.8085 or visit Federally insured by NCUA. Equal Housing Lender.