Inclement Weather Policy: Cancellations, delays of events, and closing of the Chamber office will be posted on, WBMW106.5 FM, JAMMIN’ 107.7 FM, Radio 104.1 FM, WICH-1310 AM, WCTY 97.7 FM, WNLC 98.7 FM, K-Hits– 100.9 FM, NBC 30, and News Channel 8.

Seeking Nominations: 69th Annual Citizen of the Year

  • Share:
Name: Seeking Nominations: 69th Annual Citizen of the Year
Date: November 2, 2018 - January 11, 2019
Event Description:

The Citizen of the Year Award is presented annually by the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut to a special man or woman for outstanding contributions to the civic and business community, including the economic vitality of eastern Connecticut.

Additional Criteria:

  • Nominations are in no way restricted based on age, sex, race, occupation, religion, or membership in the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut, Inc. However, all things being equal, the betterment of commerce will be an added determinant in the selection process.
  • No candidate will be considered who is paid to perform the specific services for which he or she was nominated, unless the contribution encompassed altruism toward the community beyond the basic dictates of the job.
  • The number of times the same individual is nominated each year will have no bearing in the selection process. Only the achievements and contributions of the nominee will be considered. Nominations should be EXPLICIT in addressing these details.
  • There is no time limit during which the nominee’s distinguished service to the region was rendered. Accomplishments can be during the previous year, in recent years, or over a lifetime.
  • While the nominee does not need to be a native of eastern Connecticut, he or she must be a resident now or at the time during which the distinguished service was performed.
  • The Citizen of the Year Selection Committee is appointed by the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut. They are designated to review nominations and select an individual who is most deserving of the award. 
  • While the committee will attempt to select a single award recipient, special conditions may be present in which dual awards may be given. This is the prerogative of the committee.

DEADLINE: January 11, 2019 (submitted online or received in the mail)
The award is presented at a dinner celebration in May. 

Click Here to Submit a Nomination

Click here for a printable nomination form.
Click here for a list of past recipients.

Set a Reminder:
Enter your email address below to receive a reminder message.