Chamber to Honor Local Businesses and Individuals at March 21 Annual Meeting

Eastern CT The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT will present four Regional Chamber Awards at its Annual Meeting, scheduled for Wednesday, March 21, 2018 from 5:30 to 8:00 p.m. at Hilton Mystic, sponsored by Atlantic Broadband and the Connecticut Airport Authority.

The Chamber presents Regional Chamber Awards annually to deserving businesses and individuals for outstanding work accomplished over the previous year. The honorees recognized for 2017 include:

  • Mystic Knotwork: Small Business of the Year
  • The Lofts at Ponemah Mills: Community Revitalization Leader of the Year
  • Nancy Bulkeley (Dominion Energy) and Sue Murphy (Liberty Bank): Volunteers of the Year
  • Stephen Tagliatella (Saybrook Point Inn & Spa / Connecticut Tourism Coalition): Board of Directors Special Award
Regional Chamber Award recipients are selected each year from a pool of Chamber members nominated by peers. Honorees receive recognition at the Chamber’s Annual Meeting with a commemorative plaque and acceptance speech. They are also included in the Chamber’s Annual Report, which is distributed widely by the Chamber throughout the year.

“The people and businesses nominated for the 2017 Regional Chamber Awards reflect the best of eastern CT,” said Tony Sheridan, President & CEO of the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT. “They each have invested a significant amount of hard work into improving our economy and bolstering the region’s business community. 2017 was a year that brought many positive developments for our region. The Chamber looks forward to publicly honoring some of the key players involved.”

The Chamber invites the general public to celebrate the Regional Chamber Award recipients and review the Chamber’s activities in 2017 at its Annual Meeting. Admission is $30 per person and includes a heavy hors d’oeuvres reception following the meeting. Learn more and purchase tickets at or call (860) 701-9113.

The Chamber’s 2017 Annual Meeting is made possible with support from Atlantic Broadband and the CT Airport Authority. Additional support comes from CorePlus Credit Union, Norwich Public Utilities, and Wal-Mart.

Previous Regional Chamber Award recipients include:

  • Ivy’s Simply Homemade: Small Business of the Year
  • CURE Innovation Commons: Community Revitalization Leader of the Year
  • Meagan Seacor: Volunteer of the Year
  • Kevin Brown & Robert Congdon: Board of Directors Special Award
  • Pink Basil: Small Business of the Year
  • Inn at Mystic/Harbour House Restaurant: Community Revitalization Leader of the Year
  • Louis Ziegler: Volunteer of the Year
  • Joshua’s Limousine Service: Small Business of the Year
  • FoxGlove: Community Revitalizaton Leader of the Year
  • Dianne Kent: Volunteer of the Year
  • Rev. Catherine Zall: Board of Directors Special Award 
* * * 
About the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut:
The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut is a collaborative of business and community leaders dedicated to securing and enhancing the economic vitality of eastern Connecticut. The Chamber works to create value for its members and the region by providing forums for business networking, leadership and discussions of issues that affect the region; providing opportunities for members to showcase their products, services and accomplishments; helping small businesses succeed through educational programs; and working to reduce the costs of doing business in Connecticut.  For more information, visit